Beach Time

I think that when you go to the beach that time speeds up.  I call it Beach Time.  If I sat in a chair in my back yard all day and read a book, the day would drag on and on.  But if you do it on the beach, then Beach Time kicks in, and the moment you turn to your novel, it’s time to get back up and go to lunch.  Really. 

Our weather this year was not as good as some years but in spite of that I managed to get a pretty good tan.  I went into the water more this year than I have in past years.  Part of that is due to the weather, it was good and hot in the mornings and I couldn’t stand it.  Part of it was due to the fact that I just didn’t want to put up an umbrella…thinking that if I ignored the heat and sun that it would stay.  Because the weather pattern that developed was hot/humid/sunny in the morning, then cloudy/windy/cold in the afternoon.  It was as if someone opened a refrigerator door and the breeze came up and we had to go back to the house for sweaters and blankets.  Seriously.

We managed two and a half puzzles.  The third puzzle, the one we got half done, was just too much.  Really though, we need a much better puzzle table and lighting.  We all got sore backs and I think I lost some of my eyesight trying to focus in the dim light at night.

The town of Bethany Beach constructed massive sand dunes and completed an aggressive beach restoration project over the winter.  It really changed the look of the beach and now when you walk on the boardwalk, you can see the ocean, but not the surf.  You have to walk to the top of the dune to see the surf any more.  It’s too bad for those whose houses are not up on stilts, or are at the level of the boardwalk.  It is especially hard for the Addy Sea, whose front view from the porch is completely obscured.  But they will benefit from those dunes in the long run, everyone knows.

All I can say is that I can’t wait for Beach Time next year, only that I wish Beach Time would go slower and not faster.

Here’s my pictures:  http://wiltap.shutterfly.com/action/pictures?a=67b0de21b344ec1ca4a9

0 Responses to “Beach Time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Page Index



Pat Wilson's Facebook profile

Feed This Blog

Click this button and subscribe to my blog. This will add the blog to a special area on your favorites list and it lets you know when new content has been added. Saves you time. Try it.

My Twitter Feed


