Happy Birthday — Musings on the Big 5-0

Well, the day finally arrived that I turned 50, there’s no way around it any more…it happened just the same as every other day…except that now the number has new significance.  But I don’t feel any different than I did the day before, and now I feel no different two days later.  I feel grateful to have good health, even if a bit overweight (again) at the moment.  I also feel great about having a wonderful family, an excellent job, and living in the Sunshine State.  So it doesn’t really matter about being 50, it’s how you feel and what you know and how much you are learning that makes the difference. 

The day started off as a pretty normal Saturday.  I decided early in the day not to buy a new car after all.  I’ve had my eye on the Audi A4 convertible, but a couple of factors held me back.  First of all, the Taurus is paid for, and that will become Amy’s car.  She will start studying for her learner’s permit and can drive with another licensed adult in the front seat from age 15 to 16.  Then at age 16 she can drive alone during daylight hours.  So I will car shop next year, when she will want the car and I will be stuck without one!

Anyway, we met Deanna for lunch, went to Victoria’s Secret and splurged on thingies for girls, and then I shopped for a new toy (digital camera) but didn’t find anything.  There were two very expensive bullets dodged successfully.  We made it home in time to change to go out for dinner.

We went to Boma’s at Animal Kingdom Lodge, which is a wonderful African-themed buffet.  Our party was Deanna and Rick, Tina and Samantha, Marty and Peggy, and Jeff Cox, in addition to Amy, Tony and myself.  We started off with drinks in Victoria Falls and then had a really nice dinner.  The staff at Boma’s all signed a birthday card for me and they came around with a neat little platter decked out with cookies, truffles and candies instead of the usual old birthday cake.  They would have burned the place down with 50 candles anyways, so this was very nice…low key….

Birthday Girl

It was a very nice party, and I’m glad I was with good friends and family.

Birthday Party

1 Response to “Happy Birthday — Musings on the Big 5-0”


  1. 1 Sandrauer October 10, 2007 at 6:13 am

    I like your 50 celebration and report, too. Happy Birthday, Pat, if very belated.
    s.


Leave a Reply

Blog Page Index



Pat Wilson's Facebook profile

Feed This Blog

Click this button and subscribe to my blog. This will add the blog to a special area on your favorites list and it lets you know when new content has been added. Saves you time. Try it.

My Twitter Feed


